The #MeToo movement revealing sexual misconduct in Hollywood is now spreading to actresses, with disturbing accusations being leveled against a former “Melrose Place” actress. Amazingly, charges will likely never be filed in the case.
Jamie Luner, who is known to audiences from her roles on “Melrose Place” and “All My Children,” is accused of performing a sex act on a boy who was 16 at the time. The incident reportedly took place in 1998, when Luner was 26.
However, because of the length of time it took for the boy, now 36, to come forward and file a police report, it i unlikely she will ever face charges.
Jamie Luner is not being investigated for a 1998 incident during which she allegedly performed a sex act on a minor male.
A spokesperson with the Los Angeles Police Department tells DailyMail.com that the Robbery Homicide Division, who handles all celebrity and high profile cases, has not opened an investigation at this time into the Melrose Place start.
This comes after TMZ reported that the alleged victim filed a report with the LAPD, and that Luner might be facing a charge of oral copulation with a minor child.
The victim claims that he was 16 at the time of the alleged incident, while Luner was 26 and at the height of her fame.
Even if Luner had been found guilty, she would have liklely only been charged with a misdemeanor if the sex act was consensual due to the fact that the victim was over the age of 16 at the time of the incident.
Oral copulation with a minor child can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor under California state law, with the former largely reserved for instances in which the victim is under 16.
It can also be charged as a felony, however, if the victim is over 16 but was incapacitated or forced into the act at the time of the incident.
The misdemeanor charge carries a maximum prison sentence of one year, while the felony charge can carry up to 10 years behind bars.
There is also a chance the statute of limitations has run out on this case – with California law requiring that a report be filed within one year of the offense if the act was consensual.
It is also stipulated that the offense must be reported before the victim turns 28, which could be a problem for the 36-year-old man who has reported Luner to police.
In some non-consensual cases however, criminal charges can be filed within one year of a victim making a report to police.